LOCKDOWN: South Africa Reopens Borders, Bans High-Risk Countries

South Africa is expected to open its borders to all African countries from Thursday (today) while barring tourists from around 50 nations with high coronavirus infection rates,

The continent’s most industrialised economy shuttered its borders at the start of a strict nationwide lockdown on 27 March to limit the spread of the virus.

Restrictions on movement and business have been gradually eased since June, but borders stayed sealed to avoid importing the virus from abroad.

Foreign Minister Naledi Pandor on Wednesday noted that the country would “gradually” open borders, but that restrictions were in place for around 50 countries categorised as high risk include Britain, the US, India, Russia and France.

Pandor however added that, “travellers from all African countries are allowed,”

The country will reopen some land borders and its three main airports in Cape Town, Durban and Johannesburg.

All travellers will be required to present a negative coronavirus test taken less than 72 hours prior to departure.

They will be screened upon arrival and asked to install a coronavirus tracing app on their mobile phone.

The travel restrictions will be reviewed every two weeks.

South Africa is the worst hit by the coronavirus pandemic in Africa, with 672,572 infections and 16,667 deaths recorded.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *