JUST IN: Akeredolu Wins APC Ondo Ticket

Ondo State Governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN) has emerged winner of the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Declaring Akeredolu winner of the primary election, the chairman of the election committee, Governor Yahaya Bello said a total of 3,016 delegates were accredited for the exercise while total votes cast stood at 2,793. Of the number, 2, 760 votes were valid while 33 were declared as invalid.

Akeredolu who won in all 18 local governments in the state polled a total of 2,458 votes to defeat eight other aspirants that participated in the primary.

Olusola Oke (SAN) came in distant second with 262 votes followed by Isaac Kekemeke who garnered 19 votes.

Olayide Adelami and Nathaniel Adojutelegan polled four votes each while Mrs. Jumoke Anifowose scored two votes. Ambassador Olusola Iji polled nine votes. Jimi Odimayo Ifeoluwa Oyedele and Segun Abraham stood down for Akeredolu on Sunday

The primary was held at the Ondo State International Cultural and Event Centre with no violence recorded throughout the excercise which lasted from Monday afternoon to early morning on Tuesday.

Akeredolu in his acceptance speech, called on co-aspirants to join him in the journey ahead, stressing that he needs all of them as experienced generals in their own rights who are leading troupes that are important in the task of developing the state.

Akeredolu said their participation enriched the race, adding that all of them were winners.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:   OJODU 2O21: TNN, Other Stakeholders Endorse ORA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *